Skip to content

Spectacular

11 maart 2015

foto 1(1)

I started wearing glasses when I was 3 years old, switched to contacts when I was 13 (I thought everything would change without the glasses – it didn’t, awkardeness at 13 is just inavoidable) and went back to the specs at 16. I really learned to appreciate them in my early 20s and now wear them proudly; all six pairs.

I sometimes pick them up on a flea market or in a thrift store, never paying more then € 2,50. Cheap prescription lenses only cost €30 and my optician is always wildly enthousiastic – they hardly ever get to handle vintage frames.

foto 2(1)

All in all, it’s a nice little hobby. Mr Maggie and I have a small dream (one of many) of selling vintage spectacles from an old campervan on bright, sunny summer days, wearing cute vintage dresses (me, not Mr Maggie) – but that’s for another time…

I picked these up just a few weeks ago and still have to fit the right lenses in. I'm still thinking they might be a bit much - they remind me of Harry Potter's Professor Trelawney - but I'll give them a chance.

I picked these up just a few weeks ago and still have to fit the right lenses in. I’m still thinking they might be a bit much – they remind me of Harry Potter’s Professor Trelawney – but I’ll give them a chance.

2 reacties leave one →
  1. 12 maart 2015 12:10 am

    Spectacular! πŸ‘“ I used to have a pair of glasses quite similar to that last pair in the early 80s, but then with glitters in it πŸ™‚

Geef een reactie

