Skip to content

This Old Thing

4 juli 2014

51QljteLUEL

Channel Four (which is not usually available here in the Netherlands, but thanks to our trusty satellite dish I watch it all the time) has a great new program about vintage clothes: This Old Thing.

In it, Dawn O’Porter talks about the history of fashion, helps people find a great vintage outfit and shows how a vintage item can be altered to fit life in 2014.

The item I like best every week is when an old piece of clothing from the wardrobe of a mother or grandmother is altered to fit the candidate. What a lovely idea to be able to wear this and make it fashionable again!

I’ve done the same thing. When a very good family friend died about six years ago, I inherited a white, floral 1980s evening dress. And when I got married a year later, it was altered to make me a wonderful wedding dress.

I’m not a fan of what others consider to be ‘normal’ bridal gowns; just a matter of taste, I’m afraid. So it was great to be able to wear a truly one of a kind dress, and also to feel that my dear auntie was still at my wedding, in a way.

Oh, and I still think my purple boots were the coolest wedding shoes ever!

maggie again wedding 3

 

And a few more shots from our desparately serious photoshoot:

 

maggie again wedding 1

maggie again wedding 2

3 reacties leave one →
  1. 4 juli 2014 6:56 pm

    Too bad I don’t get Channel Four. It looks like an inspiring program.
    The dress & boots look fabulous, really ‘you’.

  2. 4 juli 2014 9:57 pm

    Woehaha, die laatste foto! Oh Margriet, echt geniaal jouw foto’s. Waaaarom hebben we deze eigenlijk nog niet eerder gezien! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. This old thing: the vintage dress that got away | Mouseblossom

Geef een reactie

