Spring naar inhoud

Retro baby

15 januari 2014

20140115-101755.jpg

The little one is well on its way now, which partly explains the silence here on the blog. Loads of things to do!

But here is a small preview of the nursery, which is London themed, based on the curtains.

“But they’re soldiers!” said a friend of mine, “What if it’s a girl?”
“Oh well, she’ll be a tough cookie and love the soldiers anyway.”

Of course, the poor thing hardly gets anything new… Above you see the old family cot, lovingly re-upholstered by my mother in law. The blanket was knitted by my grandmother, the sheet embroidered by my mother, both in 1980, when mum was expecting me.

20140115-101914.jpg

Mr Maggie used to have a student job at a printing company and the owner gave us this classic printer’s cabinet many years ago. It will now be used as changing table and storage.

20140115-101931.jpg

The wardrobe is another family heirloom; it used to be my great-grandmother’s. I’ve been using it to store my books for the past 20 years. The rocking chair has been in my mum’s possession since the 1960s.

20140115-101943.jpg

Small wooden couch which doubles as storage space. I believe my parents bought it in the early 70s for my dad’s waiting room (he was a dentist); I’ve known it all my life. The design Miffy lamp is new (!), a present from my parents. And of course the Ikea stuffed broccoli is new too; I don’t know how a child can live without a cuddly broccoli.

20140115-101956.jpg

The spacy Bloom high chair is a bit of a weird exception in our retro household, but Mr Maggie insisted; he loves the egg shape. Very design, and very expensive – so we bought ours second hand. Naturally.

9 reacties leave one →
  1. 15 januari 2014 11:24 am

    Ziet er geweldig uit Margriet!

  2. 15 januari 2014 11:41 am

    Jisses wat leuk! Ik zou er bijna een baby door willen 😉

  3. 15 januari 2014 12:37 pm

    So lovely your new addition will be surrounded by family memories. So much nicer than new soulless furniture !

    • 15 januari 2014 1:52 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I also think that the old stuff spreads more warmth and love. Although of course these items were once new as well 😉

  4. Anoniem permalink
    15 januari 2014 6:22 pm

    Leuk hoor Margriet! Ik heb hier nog een prachtig dekentje voor je. Speciaal voor jou gebreid door tante Jos. Ik neem het mee als ik op kraamvisite kom. Het begint nu wel op te schieten hoor. Spannend!!

  5. 15 januari 2014 8:01 pm

    Wow, fantastisch! Dat is fijn binnenkomen op de wereld zeg! (And I’m jealous of your secondhand Bloom high chair. We need to get one to, as we discovered the regular secondhand kids chair we got is way too low for our table… Oops.)

    • 16 januari 2014 10:41 am

      Hee, da’s nog best iets om te bekijken, geen idee of de Bloom hoog genoeg is voor de tafel… Haha, ik zie Polle al bij jullie zitten met alleen z’n neus boven de tafel :-D. Er staan best veel Blooms op marktplaats hoor, is goed te vinden!

Plaats een reactie