Skip to content

It takes a few years…

4 mei 2013

20130504-103138.jpg

 

These curtains are about 50 years old…! They were made for my mother’s teenage bedroom, in the early 1960s, and I have always loved them. When my grandfather died, when I was ten, I insisted that we would keep the curtains ‘for later’.

Well, later is now. After 23 years in a cardboard box, they were unfolded and washed, and will be covering the windows of our guest bedroom. If only my ten-year-old self had known…!

—————————————————————————-

Deze gordijnen zijn 50 jaar oud…! Ze zijn in de vroege jaren zestig gemaakt voor mijn moeders tienerkamer, en ik heb ze altijd fantastisch gevonden. Toen mijn opa overleed, toen ik tien was, stond ik erop dat de gordijnen bewaard zouden worden ‘voor later’.

En ‘later’ blijkt nu te zijn. Na 23 jaar in een verhuisdoos zijn ze uitgevouwen en gewassen, en gaan we ze voor de ramen in de logeerkamer hangen. Als ik dat op mijn tiende had geweten…!

 

20130504-103159.jpg

No comments yet

Geef een reactie

