Skip to content

The Book of Good Things

27 maart 2013

maggie again

About eight or nine years ago I started, without even realizing it, a creative project that’s still alive and kicking today.

I was so fed up with all the magazines lying around my small Amsterdam flat, that I decided to tear out only the articles and images that I liked, and simply throw away the rest. Why keep a whole magazine when there are only a few things in it that you would really like to save and one day look over again?

So I bought a scrapbook, got out scissors, glue, Sellotape and staples, and started tearing.

I’ve been a fanatic ever since.

No magazine or newspaper is safe; it’s read from back to back, and then it gets killed. Sometimes I salvage more, sometimes less – it’s quite amazing how very few articles are actually worth saving. I stick them randomly in the scrapbooks, without method or order. I admit that it’s a lacking system; a photo of a beautiful interior sits right next to a Dolly Parton interview and a small advert for hiring a 2CV in Paris. It’s difficult to navigate and it takes ages to find that certain page you are looking for. Sensible people would probably have different scrapbooks for interiors, fashion, inspiring interviews, recipes, etc, etc.

But where’s the fun in that?

I have a big stack of fat scrapbooks now, filled to the brim with things that I like, stories I find interesting, people I admire, houses I love, cakes I’d like to bake and old news I wanted to remember. It’s a source of information, inspiration and endless joy. And it’s the easiest creative activity ever; no skills are needed, but still you end up with something stunning.

Your own Book of Good Things.
How cool is that?

maggie again

scrapbook

scrapbook

 

shelving

 

The scrapbooks are shelved together with other Good Things

6 reacties leave one →
  1. 27 maart 2013 5:17 pm

    Best idea EVER – will be copied as soon as I have a suitable book πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to do that!

    • 27 maart 2013 5:28 pm

      Thanks; glad you like the idea! It takes time, of course (on the other hand: that time would maybe otherwise be spent in front of the TV, which is nice, but not very useful), but it’s sooo satisfying!

      • 27 maart 2013 5:49 pm

        There are so many articles lying around here, so many images, patterns, and instructions – I really needed an idea what to do with them. Once I have filled a book I will post it.

      • 27 maart 2013 6:55 pm

        Looking forward to it! *following blog* πŸ™‚

  2. 27 maart 2013 5:27 pm

    LOVE it!!!

Geef een reactie

