Skip to content

1970s chic

16 januari 2013

maggie again furry boots

 

When I was fourteen, one of my biggest fashion wishes was to have a pair of furry snow boots. This being the mid ’90s, these were so unhip (probably only still worn by Ivana Trump) that it was impossible to find them. I once spotted a moldy second hand pair somewhere, but my wise mother thankfully prevented me from buying them. In the end, it was her who bought me a new pair, in Switzerland, for a staggering sum of money. Goat on the outside, sheep on the inside (not very vegan, I’m afraid), they were exactly what I had wished for.

Of course, in 1995 I looked absolutely ridiculous wearing them – maybe I still do. But they are lovely and warm and still going strong after 18 years. And with the changing times, they’re even sort of fashionable again.

So nice to know Ivana and I were right, in the end.

 

6 reacties leave one →
  1. 17 januari 2013 5:58 pm

    These are totally wonderful. I want a pair! They cant possibly be ridiculous because you could never be wearing them to look ‘cool’. Oh dear, does that sound rude….its supposed to be a compliment. Think I might hurry off and get a cup of tea now….

    • 19 januari 2013 11:07 am

      Hahaha, not being cool can be a very good compliment ;-). You really should get a pair, you’ll never have cold feet again.

      • 19 januari 2013 10:00 pm

        Mmmm, a cunning plan to make me look like an Ivana trump clone too? We are begining to seriously doubt dutch fashion sense here!!!!:)

      • 20 januari 2013 8:47 pm

        Ah, you’re seeing through my devious scheme… :-). And promise me to never, ever look at the Dutch for fashion inspiration…

  2. 17 januari 2013 7:25 pm

    Whaaa…ik heb ze ook en ben er nog steeds waanzinnig blij mee,
    al wordt ik wel vaak raar aangekeken of uitgelachen als ik ze draag.
    πŸ™‚

Geef een reactie

