Skip to content

On the island

18 oktober 2012

One of my guilty pleasures is BBC Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs – it’s the best thing to listen to while crocheting or knitting.

The program formula is simple: a well-known (usually British) person is virtually cast away to a desert island, and is allowed to take their eight favorite pieces of music with them. They’re also allowed to take a favorite book (the Bible and the complete works of Shakespeare are given to them anyway) and a luxury. All these favorites are presented during the course of a 45-minute interview.

Not being British myself, I have often never heard of the people who are interviewed, but I still listen to every episode, because all the guests have lead an interesting life and a good story to tell. I’ve learned about worlds I don’t know anything about (ballet, the making of crossword puzzles, Scotland) and am greatly inspired by almost everyone interviewed.

The whole archive (from 1942!) is available on the website; I’m working through it slowly, but steadily…

Some of my favorite episodes:
Annie Lennox
Jo Brand
Martina Navratilova
John Graham
Margaret Rhodes

And then there are my own DID’s – so difficult to only choose eight! And tomorrow I’ll probably choose differently again, but that’s all in the game. For now, the list is as follows:

  • Summer Night City – Abba
  • Break the wall – BZN
  • Wichita Lineman – Glen Campbell
  • Danse Macabre – Camille Saint Saens
  • Tusk – Fleetwood Mac
  • The big sky – Kate Bush
  • Almost seems (too late to turn) – Clannad
  • Baker street – Gerry Rafferty

A bit of a shameful list (the Dutch band BZN is so unhip that’s it’s not even hip in its unhipness, if you know what I mean), but there you are. As a book, I would probably choose ‘Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire’ (it’s nice and big and a good base to dream up the rest of the story around it) and for a luxury, unlimited amounts of paper and a lot of pencils. I could probably carve a crochet hook out of one of the pencils as well, so that’s quite functional.

So there we are, my Desert Island Discs. And now I wait for the BBC to call.

No comments yet

Geef een reactie

