Skip to content

About… about what…?

28 juni 2012

It was a bit of a struggle, but now finally the new About page is online on Etsy! It’s a great place to show the story behind your shop and to give people a little insight in your life and your work, but at first it was little daunting: what to tell? I am a writer and normally have no trouble at all telling a tale, but somehow this piece caused me some headache.

But here it is, together with the photos; you can find the page itself here.

Collections

Inspirations

My love for ‘old junk’ –as many people call it- started very early in my life, while growing up in a big, traditional Dutch house built in 1644. The knowledge that many generations of people had walked on the old wooden floors, had discovered the many secret corners and had slept in my very own bedroom, always filled me with wonder.

The fun thing is that I don’t need a stately home anymore to get that sense of history – just drinking tea from a 1960s cup gives me the same sentiment.

I strongly believe that retro, vintage and antique items should be used as well as loved. They were intended to be used in the first place, and doing just that is the best way to honour them.

I work from a lovely workspace/library/tv room on the ground floor of our recently renovated 1960s house in Zaandam, the Netherlands, where I live with my husband and our French bulldog Leo. Almost everything we own is second hand, even Leo! But we’re very practical about our retro love and are also big fans of Ikea – where else can you find a gigantic, comfortable couch in bright orange for a decent price?

In my shop you will mostly find housewares and home decor from the 1960s and 1970s – the true retrohead loves orange and purple! But don’t be surprised when something from a different era comes by; art deco to awful disco, all is loved here. Unique and new in the shop are also the instant collections I assemble myself pure on taste and intuition. Items don’t have to be the same to match!

The few handmade goods in the store are made from vintage materials – 80s scarves, retro fabrics, 70s yarn. I love to experiment, and when the result is good and complements the feeling of the shop I put it up for sale.

If you have any questions, requests or comments, don’t hesitate to get in touch – I’d love to hear from you!

2 reacties leave one →
  1. 29 juni 2012 2:28 pm

    Love the orange! Very nice.

    • 29 juni 2012 3:48 pm

      Thanks! Orange pops up everywhere in my life – must have something to do with being Dutch 😉

Geef een reactie

