Skip to content

Versatile Blogger Award

11 juni 2012

Now there’s a nice surprise…

When I opened my mailbox this morning, I learned that CrochetAuLait nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award! Thank you so much, you made my day! Go and have a look at her blog, she does wonderful things with a crochet hook and has some great tutorials on yarn upcycling (one of these days I’m going to make myself a nice, big ball of t-shirt yarn).

The rules of receiving the Versatile Blogger Award are as follows…

Nominees must: Tell seven things about themselves, pass the award on to (up to) 15 other blogs and thank the person who nominated them for the award. Also no one is obligated to take the award, so don’t feel you have to accept it.

Well, seven things about myself:

1. I trained and worked as a midwife, which here in the Netherlands is an independent medical profession. I guess in my two years in the field I delivered about 200 babies, at home as well as in the hospital. I left because of the great strain the job puts on both your professional and your private life, but will always be committed to midwifery and women’s health in general. It is my belief that in the whole world, even in our so-called civilized, western society, women delivering babies are generally poorly treated and should have a much, much bigger say in what is done to their mind, their bodies and their babies.Β I also hold an MSc in clinical epidemiology.

2. Famous women I admire are Kate Bush, Miss Piggy, JK Rowling, Helena Bonham Carter and Dolly Parton. I think every girl should embrace her inner Dolly πŸ™‚

3. In 2006 – 2007 my man and I spent a year in Australia, driving a 1989 Holden Commodore called Henry all around the country. The car almost died when we reached Alice Springs, and we spent 6 weeks there working in a scrapyard while Henry was revived. We loved it there, and the humble desert town of Alice Springs (someone told me recently: ‘You spent six weeks there?! I wouldn’t stay there for six hours!’) will be forever in our hearts.

4. My man and I are high school sweethearts, we met at 16 (I’m 31 now). We married in 2009 and I wore an altered white, flowery 1980s evening dress that I inherited from a dear family friend.

5. I love BBC Radio 4 and Radio 4 Extra.

6. I’ve been wearing glasses since I was 3. I switched to contacts when I was 13, because I thought that not having glasses would change everything (it didn’t), but switched back again at 19, because it just was too much hassle. I know have four pairs of specs as well as prescription aviators (which look sooo cool…!).

7. I love Sherlock Holmes, in all his forms and incarnations. Favorite story: ‘The Red Headed League’.

My nominations, in no particular order:

Divine Debris Jewelry

Broadside

The Big Forest

Cristian Mihai

Pillows A-la-mode

5 reacties leave one →
  1. 11 juni 2012 12:10 pm

    Thank you so much for your nomination! Kate Bush and Miss Piggy not often they appear on the same list but both inspirational women (in totally different ways of course!) Take care and thanks again. From the bears over at TheBigForest.x

  2. 11 juni 2012 3:38 pm

    Thank you SOOO much, Maggie! You rock! πŸ™‚

  3. 11 juni 2012 6:12 pm

    Thank you, again. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. The Versatile Blogger Award « divinedebrisjewelry
  2. And the Oscar goes to… « MaggieAgain

Geef een reactie

