Skip to content

Fan

19 april 2012

I’m afraid I’m not a very good fan – I would never think about approaching someone famous and bother them, and I can’t imagine why you would want to talk to them, saying stupid things and sweating profusely out of nerves (or at least that’s what would happen to me, when meeting, say, Kate Bush, Stephen Fry or JK Rowling). And even as a teenager I didn’t do much swooning, queueing three days for concert tickets or crying over posters on my bedroom wall.

I am, however, a big fan of the 1980s TV series Robin of Sherwood. And as a result, I’m also a big fan of Clannad, who made the soundtrack to the series, resulting in the album ‘Legend’ (and winning a BAFTA for it). And as a result of that, I went Tuesday to see Moya Brennan in concert for the third time. Moya and her band gave a wonderful performance and, as always, were nice enough to come into the foyer afterwards to chat and sign. So there, completely against my nature and everything I believe in considering ‘celebrities’, I had a small chat with her and she was very willing to sign my old, battered and dearly beloved ‘Legend’ cd.

And I’m much, much more pleased with that than I’m willing to admit…

No comments yet

Geef een reactie

